Local artists hailed at FPRA music awards – FBC News

Fiji’s music industry has boomed in recent years, despite the challenges posed by the pandemic.

More than twenty artists, composers and sound and sound engineers gathered in Suva last night for the 2022 Fiji Performing Rights Association Music Awards.

FPRA President Eremasi Tamanisau acknowledged the efforts and perseverance of local artists to initiate innovative and effective strategies to ensure the industry does not wither away in the face of challenges.

The article continues after the ad

Tamanisau adds that it is nice to come together again at this annual event after two years, which has been made possible thanks to the support of various stakeholders in Fiji.

“Notwithstanding the foregoing, I wish to express our warmest gratitude to corporate sponsors who faithfully continue to move forward with their corporate social responsibilities. These are the movers. »

A total of 13 awards were handed out last night, while 22 were announced during the 2020 and 2021 FPRA awards on Friday night.

Josateki Wainiqolo, who leads the group Voqa Kei Munia, won the best Fijian song 2022 titled “Tei sa Kadre”.

The other winners of the 2022 FPRA Music Prize were Emosi Diani, Manu Korovulavula, Maciu Salauca, the Yanu Boys, Ledua Cakacaka, Vivita Cevo, Richard Naidu, Adriu Saranuku, Stee Vereakula, Pojee, Josa, Ravneil Singh and Stee Verekula.

Previous Luciano and Nic Fanciulli lead a conversation on island sustainability
Next Soul'd Out Trio Return to West Central Ohio